12/8/11 Local 404 General Membership Meeting Minutes

Present: Connie Anderson, Ann Sullivan, Eric Ridout, Lynn Whipple, John Knobbe, LaRae Ackerman, Wendy Stevensen, Jill Gorman, Matt Stenger, Jeremy Tubbs, Justin Racek, Karla Herzberg, Jose Garibay, Adam Castle, Amanda Mathiowetz, Elena Shevtsov, Thom Wilkins, Andrew Jones, Missy Leighton, Kelly Jewison, Marlowe Grau, Lolita Thompson, Mary Wolfe, Denise Roggow, Thyron Wilking, Randy Erickson, Joe Anderson, Douglas Kampen, John Michael, Gary Janzen, Jill Gatzke, Pam Enter, Angie Mace, Mark Kreykes, Kylene Kreykes, Kevin Brady, Pat Vandenberg, Annie Jakacki, Cindy Ekstam, Nate Vetter, Dawn Draeger, Tim Headlee, Paul Schwichtenberg, John Collins, Lisa Spurr, Lori Olson, Ann Shevtsov, Mark Menke, Michelle Rodning, Chuck Carlson

1.Secretaries Report: November 2011 meeting minutes- Additions or Corrections? Motion to accept subject to review by John Knobbe second by Doug Kampen then carried.  

2. Treasurer-Connie Anderson: STATEMENT OF INCOME AND EXPENSES FOR MONTH ENDING Nov 2011 CASH BALANCE BEGINNING OF MONTH: $ 53358.40 INCOME FOR THE MONTH: $ 3371.31 EXPENSES FOR THE MONTH: $ 9313.68 CASH BALANCE ENDING OF MONTH: $ 47416.03 SUBMITTED BY: _______CONNIE ANDERSON_____ Accepted subject to audit motion by John Knobbe second by John Collins then carried.  

3. New Business: a) President’s meeting Jan 20th at Council 5 – motion (Chuck Carlson and John Knobbe to attend) to authorize per diem and usual expenses made by John Collins second by Missy Leighton then carried.  

4. Nominations for Union officer positions: Scott Grefe- nominations chair President- Chuck Carlson nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot. VP Admin- John Knobbe nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot VP Steward Coordinator- Molly Kennedy nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Secretary- Andy Jones, Thom Wilkins, Dylan Tate, and Lynn Whipple nominated. Position will be filled by ballot vote in January 2012. Treasurer- Connie Anderson nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Chief Steward- Tim Headlee nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Chief Steward- Matt Stenger nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Chief Steward- Annie Jakacki nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Chief Steward- Kevin Graves nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Chief Steward- Ann Sullivan nominated- nomination withdrawn Chief Steward- Jeremy Tubbs nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot Executive Board- 3 Executive Board positions available. Jill Gorman, Ann Sullivan, John Collins, and Shannon Pech nominated. Positions will be filled by ballot vote in January 2012. Trustee Position- Eric Ridout nominated and accepted nomination- elected by unanimous ballot  

5. Election Committee- Connie Anderson, Paul Schwichtenberg, and Matt Stenger volunteered to be on the election committee.  

6. Old Business: none
7. Items from the membership: Jill Gatzke thanked Local 404 for this year’s donation of $1200 to The Kitchen and asked that we again consider donating to this good cause. A motion was made by John Knobbe to fund $1200 and volunteer to work at The Kitchen 3 evenings in 2012. Second by Missy Leighton then carried. A motion was also made by John Knobbe to donate $200 to the following charities: Salvation Army, St. Peter Food Shelf, Mankato Food Shelf (ECHO), Santa Anonymous, and Toys for Tots. Second by Jill Gorman then carried.  

8. Officer Reports Presidents Report: a) a) FD M&C - Minutes will be posted- Any questions, please see Chuck Carlson or John Knobbe b) CBHH/CARE Meeting – Kevin Graves will report c) Forensic Division Joint Labor Management- d) MSOP Meet & Confer – Any questions please see Molly Kennedy VP-John Knobbe: “This last month I have been focused on language. Between negotiations, SEPC, and M&C’s with management it is obvious we need to continue to protect the language we have. Remember to be political- we elect our boss- and we need to tell them when they are not meeting our expectations. In Solidarity, W. John Knobbe” VP- Molly Kennedy “For the months of November and December we had MSOP Joint Labor Management on November 17th. At the meeting we had discussions about the ability to view all schedules, ability to view partial vacation requests, discipline practices and the expectations for the OD’s to contact staff not reporting to work. Please see www.union404.com for all the meeting minutes. January 26th and 27th there is a Basic Steward Training in St. Paul. Classes fill up fast so please contact me ASAP if you are interested in being a steward. Please contact me or any member of the executive board with any union questions you may have. In Solidarity, Molly Kennedy” CS MSH/Transition: John Collins: Lobbying weeks for Local 404 are: Feb. 20-24 and May 21-25. John urged people to attend as talking to our representatives is a good experience and the more people we have- the better. Day on the Hill is on Tuesday March 27th.

CS-AMH/CARE: Kevin Graves: Nothing new to report. CS – Facilities and Forensic Nursing Home: Jill Gorman: “Not much from my end. A plumber quit and will be replaced as far as I know.” CS – MSOP: Matt Stenger “In MSOP we have two step 3's and 2 step 1's investigations have also gone up a little bit in the last month. We will be having meet and confer on 12-15-11. If you have anything that you would like to see addressed please let Molly, Jeremy, or myself know so we can have it added to the meeting.”

EB-Anne Mehltretter: Nothing new to report. .EB- Eric Ridout: Nothing new to report. EB-Tim Headlee: Nothing new to report. CLU delegate report- “Lynn Whipple is a new representative from Local 404. Union Holiday party is at Hobbers. Election of officers is in January.” Social Committee: Nothing new to report. Council 5 Field Representative Scott Grefe: Scott urged members to attend lobbying weeks and Day on the Hill.

Good and Welfare: Jesse Miller, Jake Cottew, Matt Uecker, Tom Eustice, Mike Keech, Solomon Dulka, Phil Smith, Ashley Kisor, Joel Frey, Marvin Vega, Roarke Engelhardt, Abe Ketter, John Collins Message to Members: “Happy Holidays!” Door Prizes: Matt Stenger, Mark Menke, Jeremy Tubbs, Eric Ridout, Angie Mace, Dawn Draeger, Kylene Kreykes, Ann Shevtsov, Joe Olson, Jose Garibay. Missy Leighton, Adam Castle, Cindy Ekstam, Connie Anderson, Elena Shevtsov, Nate Vetter, John Michael, Karla Herzberg, Gary Janzen, Andrew Jones Progressive Drawing- Dec 2011- Adam Castle won the $125 drawing.

Meeting adjourned at 5:10pm